The tiny seed sown by the Italian Pioneers in the fertile soil of India has sprouted, cared for by their sweat and tears. It was nurtured by prayers and sacrifices and it has now spread its branches to all parts of India. Today, August 2012, we, the Ursulines of Mary Immaculate are present, in India, with our apostolic ministries among the peoples of different religions, cultures and languages. As Daughter of Blessed Brigida Morello of Jesus, we took the light of learning and the oil of healing to the length and breadth of this great country. The growth of the Mission was slow but steady. On the 54th Anniversary of its foundation, the Mission needed to be reshaped/restructured for better administration. This was done on the 15th of August 1988 by dividing the Delegation into three Provinces: Southern, Central and Northern. The first Provincial Superiors were: Sr. Liliana Kandamkulathy, Sr. Giovanna Alberoni and Sr. Francesca Edattel respectively. The Provincialates were at Cannanore, Bangalore and Lucknow. On 3rd December 2004 a Vice-Province was erected, carved out of the Northern Province. It was based at Greater Noida (Delhi). In 2010, the same Vice Province was raised to a Province and was named Nirmala Province.

Italian Province

The Italian Province was erected in 1989 and is based at the Mother House of the Institute at Piacenza. The same house was the seat of the Superior General and Council from the time of its foundation, in 1649, and up the year 1993, when the Generalate was transferred to Rome. It has witnessed 3 …

View page »

Amala Province

  At the time of its erection, the Southern Province was present only in the States of Kerala and Tamilnadu. Most of the convents were in the diocese of Calicut; there was only one convent at Trivandrum and one in Wellington (Nilgiris). The House at Payyambalam, Kannur is considered the Mother-House of the Ursuline Mission …

View page »

Vimala Province

The Ursuline Mission in North India began on 28th June 1953, when Mother Stefania Murelli, the Superior of the Mission, arrived at Kanpur, UP, along with other Sisters. The invitation had come from the Bishop of Allahabad, Rt. Rev. Dr. L. Raymond who had given the Sisters a residence at St. Patrick’s Church compound. The …

View page »

Sacred Heart Province

India is so large a country, the Southern and Northern Provinces seemed too far apart: the Central Province would prove a kind of bridge! There was already a well established Community at Bangalore, an important city, and the capital of the State of Karnataka.To this Province were assigned the existing Communities of Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa …

View page »

Nirmala Province

Nirmala Vice-Province which had been erected on 3rd December 2004, carved out of the Northern Province, was raised to a Province on 3rd December 2010. Its Provincialate is at Greater Noida, U.P. Nirmala Province has 94 Professed Sisters in 14 Communities, spread in 5 States of North India-Uttar Pradesh, Uttranchal, Delhi, Chandigarh and Punjab.                                               Provincial …

View page »

Brazil Delegation

The Brazilian Mission was born in 1985 when the Pioneers: Sr. Paola Tiramani, Sr. Carmela Sotgiu and Sr. Marisa Mundackal, arrived at Ponta Grossa, Paranà on 13th March. Mother Stefania Murelli was the Superior General. Head quarters at Ponta Grossa, Paranà The Mission was raised to a Delegation in 2006. The first Delegate Superior is …

View page »