↑ Return to Provinces

Sacred Heart Province

India is so large a country, the Southern and Northern Provinces seemed too far apart: the Central Province would prove a kind of bridge! There was already a well established Community at Bangalore, an important city, and the capital of the State of Karnataka.

Ursuline Provincialte Bangalore

To this Province were assigned the existing Communities of Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa and Orissa.
Mother Giovanna was the first Provincial Superior

M. Giovanna Alberoni
1st Provincial Superior
1988- 1991
Sr. Gaudenzia Chunayanmackal 2nd Provincial Superior 1991-1998 & 2010-2013

At present the Central Province has 196 Sisters in 32 Communities, 7 of which in Tanzania and one in U.K.(East Africa)

Sr. Vandana Fernandez
3rd Provincial Superior 1998-2003
Sr. Berchmans Kuzhimattathil 4th Provincial Superior
Sr. Kusum Panthalanikal
5th Provincial Superior 2013-2019
Sr. Nikesh Munjanatt
6th Provincial Superior 2019-

Our Sisters are involved in the educational, healing and socio pastoral ministries.

Sisters in the Ministries

On 1st May 2019 Sacred Heart Province opened a new mission at Our Lady of Fatima Parish-Poole, in the diocese of Plymouth. Srs. Juliana and Vincy are chosen to be the pioneers of this mission. Our sisters are involved int he pastoral activities of the Parish.

Present Provincial Team 2019- 2022

Sr. Nikesh Munjanatt Provincial Superior
Sr. Sherin Lobo Vice Provincial
Sr. Beena Devassia Madavath Provincial Councillor
Sr. Succorin Rebello Provincial Councillor
Sr. Kripa Issac Charuplakil Provincial Councillor
Sr. Sherin Lobo Provincial Secretary
Sr.Philomin Thadathil Provincial Treasurer